Should you fight a DUI charge?
If you find yourself facing a DUI charge there is one thing you should do before anything else: consult a lawyer. An attorney will help you understand your rights and can advise you on the best way forward. If there’s a chance of beating the charge, they will put together the most effective case possible. At a minimum, they can help to lessen the severity of the sentence.
A person may be charged with DUI in Pennsylvania if they are intoxicated by alcohol or drugs, including legally prescribed drugs. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 or higher, you will be charged with a DUI. However, you could still be charged with a DUI if your BAC is below 0.08, if the officer believes that your driving was impaired by alcohol or drugs.
In Pennsylvania, if you are asked to take a blood test, you may refuse, which could result in a one -year license suspension. If you have any illegal substance in your blood, even if you didn’t take it immediately before you began to drive, that could result in a DUI conviction.
Without legal representation, you could be charged to the maximum penalties in Pennsylvania. In some cases, a legal representation might include negotiating a reduced sentence, ideally, one which would avoid jail time, or reducing the charge. If we feel the case against you is uncertain, we will fight to prove your innocence in the courts. If you are convicted of driving under the influence For the first time, you could have penalties that include :
BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.10%
BAC of 0.10% to less than 0.16%
BAC of 0.16% or higher
- Upgraded Misdemeanor Charge
- Mandatory 6 months of Probation
- $300.00 Fine
- No license suspension
- Full drug and alcohol assessment if indicated by CRN (Court Reporting Network)
- Ungraded Misdemeanor Charge
- Mandatory Jail time of 48 hours, up to a maximum of 6 months
- Mandatory minimum fine of $500.00 up to $5,000.00
- License suspension of 12 months
- Full drug and alcohol assessment if indicated by the CRN (Court reporting network
- Ungraded Misdemeanor
- Mandatory jail time of 72 hours, up to a maximum of 6 months
- Mandatory minimum fine of $1,000.00
- License suspension of 12 months
- Full drug and alcohol assessment if indicated by CRN (Court Reporting network.
Understanding your rights
If you’re facing a DUI charge, you will be looking for one of several outcomes: securing a lesser charge, avoiding jail time or dismissing the case outright. It will all depend on the specific circumstances surrounding the case. As your attorneys, we would assess the merits of the situation and advise you on the best way forward.
Trust and understanding
Whichever option we decide to take, it’s important to be open and upfront with us at all times. As your attorney’s it’s not our job to pass judgment. Instead, we’re your guides dedicated to protecting your interests.
Standing up for your rights
When you’re standing trial it’s important to understand your rights and how the authorities are obliged to behave. For example, in many cases, the police may not have had probable cause to stop you.
This is something that often gets overlooked. The police will need a reason to stop you, such as observing your car weaving around or driving erratically. If they didn’t, the stop should not have been made and any evidence they have gathered will be ruled inadmissible.
What do your services as a DUI attorney include?
Subjecting the actions taken by officers to proper scrutiny.
Validating and challenging any chemical tests you were subjected to.
Compiling evidence and interviewing witnesses.
Guiding you through court hearings.
In other words, if you do find yourself charged with DUI, above all, don’t panic. Our team of highly experienced and qualified lawyers will be with you every step of the way.
1st DUI 1st DUI charge 1st offense DUI 2nd dui 2nd offense DUI 3rd DUI attorney BAC Levels in PA case Charged with a DUI Charged with DUI in pa consultation criminal Criminal conviction criminal law driving while impaired driving while intoxicated drugs drunk driving DUI DUI charge Dui law DUI PA DWI charge got charged with a DUI law lawyer retail theft second offense dui theft